The Proposal

I am being proposed to, on this very date (30 October 2016). This marks the beginning of the next phase of our relationship. Status change but everything else remains. Deep down, I do hope for us to grow.

Rule 5 of Stephen Covey’s 7 Habits: Seek first to understand, then to be understood. 

Practice effective listening. 

Keep reminded: It is not what you say but how you say it.

Often in time, what you really meant and what you had in mind were negatively expressed in the manner that causes misunderstanding.

Well, enough of hoping for us to grow. Let me get down to the topic of the proposal.

I agreed to *Ching to join her in the staycation despite having an exam a day after the end of the staycation. I was quite stress having to agree to the staycation admist my piling assignment and upcoming quiz. And I gave her options of changing the room booking if her fiancé really couldn’t make it for the staycation with her.

I was planning the things that I could do and have to do and almost brought along my laptop, which I decided to just leave it at home due to the weight. However I brought along my notes for the upcoming quiz.

Along the way to the hotel, I was studiously reading my notes instead of going on social platforms. *Ching dropped me a message asking where am I. I told her I am on the way but told her I really couldn’t enjoy with all the burden that I had on me.

Upon reaching, she brought me up to the room, opened the door and said “Surprise”! I was like whoaaa “did Jon tell the hotel that you guys are celebrating some occasion”? Cos, that’s what WL did when we first go Malacca together and the hotel prepared us a fruit platter and a decorated bed. *Ching said “No! It’s for you”…”for me”?

She then get a go-pro and started filming while asking me to read all the cards hanging down the balloons. After reading the 1st card, I knew it is going to be a proposal day and thought out loud “is today a special date?”.

After reading those cards, we moved on to the walls of photos. I am supposed to look at the photos before going to the sofa to watch some videos. (I think the songs chosen can be improved….not very classy) I am obediently following *Ching’s instruction. Heh heh…I was told to learn how not to spoil plans by exposing it blatantly. So I didn’t do anything out of their control/plans for the day.

I sat down and started laughing at his clumsiness and got annoyed by his self-compliment, surprised by his friends appearance and very touched by my friends’ involvement.

Then the bf walked out from behind, and shakingly kneel down in front of me (he has been emphasising that he got problem with kneeling and squatting). Music playing at the background is very disruptive while having to hear what the bf is mumbling.

I asked if he is going to say something sweet and touching to me and do a better job than my friends in the video. He said yes, he is going to. But, he actually calms me down with his speech, instead of making me cry more than ever.

The only regret that I had, after being clear of some of my other criteria, is not teaching him what to say in a proposal. Cos’ I thought that should not go wrong. Haha! So guys, in a proposal, the lady is probably waiting to hear how important she is to you, how much you wanted her in your life and how you wanted to take care of her and create a future together.

Presenting to me a bouquet of roses and with the bf kneeling a bit too near to the sofa that I am sitting on, I had a problem looking at the ring and his gestures hidden underneath the roses.

Nodded and gotten my ring.

His friends and YanHui walked into the room with more balloons. Standing there awkwardly makes me extra awkward. Hahaha. Oh! And there’s more balloons behind the curtain which was revealed after the proposal. What’s the exact plan like, I am really unsure of.

Photos time! 

With my friends: 

With his friends: 

Some photos I had of the room: 

My favourite photo of the day: 

We went to Opus for a luxurious dinner. 

Had a bottle of red wine and ended with a really bad headache but apart from that, everything else is yummy! 

The night after the proposal, we had to clear our room while waiting for breakfast time. 

Our life could have been cuter. We walked over to wild honey for our english breakfast. One last photo before checking out. And a photo of me with the kitty balloon before it burst while exposed to the air draft generated by the vehicular traffic.

Leave a Reply

